OldEngineer: Lots of love to give.

No Photo ManNo photo
Like Me
Favorite Me

My Details

More About Me

I was born in 1945 and we lived in a council house until I was an early teen, when my father bought us a house to live in. I attended the local village primary school, passed the 11 plus and went to Grammar School until I was 17. At that point I was fed up with education and started work. I later took a degree course with the Open University, gaining a first. I worked for various companies, getting redundancy in 1990 when I started as a freelance and earned more than I ever had before, and made more profit than the large firm from which I had taken redundancy.

At the age of 10 I managed to catch Polio, which has left me with two rather weak legs, but has not stopped me doing anything I really wanted to - riding motorbikes, driving cars and flying aircraft. Apart from that my health is generally good, with mild hypertension (who hasn't?) and a few extra pounds (ditto). My hair is eggshell grey, number 2 cut. I normally slop around in comfortable clothes but I can wear a lounge or dinner suit if the occasion warrants it - I don't scrub up too bad. My friends of the female persuasion tell me I have a nice bum, but I can't see it myself.


I like to think of myself as a gentleman, although perhaps a bit of a rough diamond. Educated as a scientist, trained as an engineer, I have spent most of my life making, mending, servicing and tuning all sorts of stuff, for myself, for friends, and for money. Now I'm supposedly retired and working harder than ever. I like live music of many sorts, theatre (pro or am-dram), eating out, going away and seeing places and outdoor activities (but not strenuous ones; I'm built for comfort, not speed). I am happy to do most things as a couple, or with a group of like-minded friends.I live in and love the countryside. I have lived in cities and towns, large and small, but I much prefer the country.

More about my Match

I am looking for somebody like me, but without the dangly bits. Ideally a professional or business lady, about the same age and having had the same experiences (apart from Polio, obviously). Preferably not religious, definitely a non-smoker, good sense of humour, who loves both eating out as well as doing nice food for dinner parties, is happy to go to a local folk club, 1960s rock concert, a classical music concert, or a Gilbert and Sullivan light opera as well as a London show of a major rock musical. I don't care about colour of eyes, hair or skin (* see below)- I'm more interested in sense of humour, kindness, caring, and a positive approach to life and its many problems. I want a committed long term relationship but I have to pre-warn you that I have a widow's pension from my late wife's employer which will cease if I re-marry, and I would need a lot of good reason to give up an income that could provide us with a fortnight's Caribbean cruise each winter.

* Skin should be all the same colour - i.e. NO TATTOOS and the only man-made holes in it should be in the ears, nowhere else.

Occupation

I am retired. I do lots of DIY of all sorts.

Like
Favorite
Back to Top
ConnectingSingles does not do background checks and does not manually screen every profile.
To Report Abuse: If this profile or the behavior of the member is inappropriate, click here to Report Abuse »
LIV22: "How well do you know me?"(meet us in the quizzes)
 
We use cookies to ensure that you have the best experience possible on our website. Read Our Privacy Policy Here